Home » Uncategorized » Chef Jill Hamill ’17, Suffolk County Community College Culinary Arts

Chef Jill Hamill ’17, Suffolk County Community College Culinary Arts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 653 other subscribers

My name is Jill Hamill and I graduated from Suffolk County Community College with an A.A.S. in Culinary Arts & Restaurant Management in 2017. I am currently working as a Chef Instructor at the H.B. Ward Technical Center (ESBOCES) in Riverhead where I teach Special Education Food Preparation. I just completed my fifth year of teaching and I absolutely love what I do!

             But let’s start from the beginning… In November 2012, my dad lost his battle with a very rare form of cancer. As you can imagine, this was extremely hard on me. My dad had many interests and hobbies, but one of his favorites was cooking. He loved to clip recipes from Newsday or the New York Times and I was always one of the lucky (most of time) taste testers. After he passed, I began cooking as a way to feel connected to my dad and to process his passing. Over time, this hobby turned into a passion. I began cooking for family and friends and I loved every minute in the kitchen.

Fast forward to the fall of 2014 and I began working as a substitute aide at Eastern Suffolk BOCES as an “in between” job. Truthfully, I had no plans of staying there long term… but as I come up on my 10th year with the agency, I guess the universe had other plans. In January 2015, I was hired as a full-time teaching assistant in the Special Education Food Preparation program at the Bixhorn Technical Center in Bellport and the rest is history. I fell in love with the classroom and helping students learn to cook. In the fall of 2015, we took the class on a field trip to Suffolk to tour the program and I ended up going home and applying myself.

In January 2016, I started classes and I immediately knew in my heart that I was on the right path. I was still working full-time at BOCES, but attended afternoon and evening classes. I became involved in ACF and was on the Knowledge Bowl Team that won the Northeast Regional Competition in the Spring of 2017. I also attended the Study Abroad Program where I interned at a restaurant in Florence, Italy with the Florence University of the Arts. From there, I was able to participate in the Tutto Toscana Program with other Culinary & Pastry students from around the world with the Florence University of the Arts at the James Beard Foundation in NYC. It was truly the best experiences of my life and I am SO grateful to Suffolk for providing me with these once-in-a-lifetime opportunities.

During this time, I worked at Watermill Caterers in Smithtown, where I was able to put the skills and techniques I learned at Suffolk into practice. There, I was able to be cross-trained to work various different stations, which pushed me to learn and grow more than I ever could have expected. I would not be the chef I am today without the work experience I gained during my time at the Watermill and I am so thankful for Chef Chris Singlemann for always supporting and believing in me.

In the Fall of 2018, I was hired as a full-time Special Education Food Preparation Instructor and the rest is history. As I go into my sixth year of teaching, I have nothing but gratitude for every person and experience along the way that has gotten me to this point. Attending Suffolk County Community College was one of the best decisions I have ever made and I am excited to continue in my newest role as a Professional Assistant. It’s funny how life comes full circle, but it just goes to show that something positive can always come out of something negative. I know that my dad would be so proud.

Join the LinkedIn group Suffolk County Community College Culinary Arts Alumni and subscribe to the Facebook page Sunysflk Culinary Arts & Hospitality 

Find Suffolk County Community College Alumni Association online:

Website | Facebook | LinkedIn | Twitter | Instagram | WordPress | Pinterest | Flickr | Alumni Shop

Click here to make an online gift to support SCCC students and programs

Suffolk Credit Union supports scholarships you can too!


Leave a comment