Home » Uncategorized » Suffolk Theater Students Shine at Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival

Suffolk Theater Students Shine at Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 569 other followers

Suffolk County Community College’s Theater Arts Department students performed extraordinarily at the prestigious Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival (KCACTF) where students competed in a week’s worth of competitions in acting and technical theater.

“I want to congratulate our students, Charles Wittreich, chair of the theatre department, and our faculty on this outstanding achievement,” said Suffolk County Community College President Dr. Shaun L. McKay. “The awards are a testament to the quality of our theatrical productions, as well as the incredible commitment our faculty have in expanding and enhancing the learning opportunities for our majors.”

The College’s production of Eurydice at the festival held at Western Connecticut State University, garnered the festival’s coveted Golden Hammer Award. Faculty and students constructed scenery, focused lights, connected sound and prepared costumes and props for the performance.

  • Eastport’s Scott Cavallo who served as the technical director for the production presented his work and was awarded a scholarship from the Stagecraft Institute of Las Vegas and presented with a one week, all expenses paid internship at the institute.
  • Shirley’s Avery Orvis captured the KCACTF National Award for Excellence in Sound Design and will be presenting his work at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C.
  • Technical Theater majors Brian Cahill-Assenza (Northport), Erika Blais Seeger (Hauppauge), Jerilyn Toole (Wading River) and Adzua Amoa (Central Islip) presented their design work at the Festival Exhibit
  • Suffolk won the Technical Olympic competition
  • Franklin Krzyzewski (Hampton Bays), Avery Orvis and Brian Cahill-Assenza garnered individual awards in the Technical Olympics competition.

Suffolk’s acting majors also celebrated at the KCACTF Festival.

  • Michael Fales (Miller Place) was a multiple winner:
    • First alternate: National Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship
    • Winner: New England Theater Conference Best Comic Actor Award
    • Voice and Speech Trainer Association, Vocal Excellence Award
  • Greggory Kowlessar (Shirley)
    • National Association Partners of Theater, Classical Acting Award
    • Semi-finalist National Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship

Additionally, five Suffolk theater majors made it to the semi-final round of 36 for Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship. The actors competed with scene work and monologues against 400 others. Those semi-finalists were:

  • Hannah Morin
  • Michael Fales
  • Rita Sarli (Lindenhurst)
  • Isaias Miranda (Bay Shore)
  • Greggory Kowlessar (Shirley)

Source: Suffolk County Community College

Find Suffolk County Community College Alumni Association online:

Website | Facebook | LinkedIn | Twitter | WordPress | Pinterest | Flickr | Alumni Shop

 Click here to make an online gift to support SCCC students and programs


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: